Meet the Sheriff

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
IMG_5159Hello, I am Todd E. Godwin and it is my privilege to serve as Sheriff for the citizens of Accomack County. I began my law enforcement career in 1985 as an officer with the Parksley Police Department followed by employment with the Virginia State Police as a weight enforcement officer in 1987. I then joined the sheriff's office in 1990 as a patrol deputy and became the county's first K-9 deputy in 1993 with my partner, Nitro. I was promoted to corporal in 1995 and patrol lieutenant 1999. In January of 2008 I was promoted to chief deputy, second in command, with the rank of major. As lieutenant, I was responsible for the day to day operations of the uniform patrol division, including the SWAT team, K-9 units, dive teams and dispatch. As chief deputy I was responsible for the management of all department divisions to include law enforcement, corrections, courtroom security/civil process, communications, animal control and the animal control facility.

In addition to my training at the Peninsula Tidewater Academy of Criminal Justice and the Virginia State Police Academy I have received training in numerous areas during my career. Those areas include lawful employment practice, freedom of information training, managing jail risk and liability, budgeting for criminal justice executives, FBI first line supervisor school, liability issues for K-9 handlers, raid liability and planning, FEMA national incident management system ICS-100, 200, 700, 300 and 400, breath alcohol operator course, vehicle inspection course, uniform drug interdiciton training, SWAT training, basic and advance patrol/narcotic K-9 schools, street survival and tactical use of police K-9, basic radar, domestic violence training, community policing in small town and rural areas, basic animal control school and gang training.

The Accomack County Sheriff's Office consists of 75 sworn and non-sworn personnel. I am a member of the Eastern Shore of Virginia 911 commission, member of the Chesapeake Bay ASAP policy board and a member of the Eastern Shore Regional Jail board.